The departments of Bolivia

La Paz, Beni, Chuquisaca, Potosi, Cochamba, Pando, Tarija, Santa Cruz, Oruro.

Department of Potosi

The department of Potosi is located to the Southeast of Bolivia. The capital city has the same name, and sits at the foot of the impressive Cerro Rico (Rich Mountain – 4700m/15.420ft). Potosí is one of the nine departments that make up Bolivia. Famous for its precious metal deposits, limiting to the north with the departments of Oruro and Cochabamba, to the east with Chuquisaca and Tarija, and to the south with the Argentine Republic up to the trifinio Cerro Zapaleri, where its border with the Republic of Chile begins, towards the West.
The department has a population of 828 093 inhabitants and was founded on January 23, 1826 by Ayacucho Marshal Antonio José de Sucre.
Potosí is made up of 16 provinces. Other municipalities also of importance due to the amount of population they have are the following respectively: Llallagua, Tupiza, Villazón, Colquechaca, Betanzos, Cotagaita, San Pedro de Buena Vista and Uyuni.

Discover Uyuni Salt Flat

Department of La Paz

A department of unique beauty, which houses mountains, snow peaks, Andean landscapes, valleys, tropical jungles; all this just a few hours from the city by car. Its culture is marked by western world traditions together with the ancient values inherited from the Aymarás and Quechuas.

Discover the lake Titicaca

Department of Beni

The department of Beni is located in the Bolivian Amazon. It is a region with a great variety of unique flora and fauna. It features extensive plains that represent a natural wealth and rich Amazonian forest where great rivers of many colours converge.

Beni is also known as the territory of the Great Moxos, a land of infinite mysteries and unparalleled charms. It was also the site of several expeditions beginning in the year 1538. The Jesuit funded missions and, together with the various ethnic groups, established the basis for a community culture, only to be banished many years later.

Beni is the land of rubber and nuts, of plains and cattle breeding, of exuberant beauty and a wealth of traditions - where the down-to-earth people harvest hospitality and joy. The capital is Trinidad, a place that houses nature, culture, history and ancient traditions.

Discover the department of Beni

Departement of Chuquisaca

The department of Chuquisaca is located to the south of Bolivia. It is rich in hydrocarbon, forest resources and limestone deposits. Tempered valleys are surrounded by brooks and rivers, bathing resorts (Yotala, Ñucchu, La Palma, and Cachimayo) and thermal water fountains (Los Alamos, Huata and Talula). Sucre is the department’s capital and also the constitutional capital of Bolivia. Known as “America’s White City” because of its houses and buildings painted entirely in white. It was declared a Cultural Heritage of Humanity by UNESCO because it is a living museum of what life was like for Spanish aristocracy in the colonial era. It was the seat of important institutions, such as The Archbishop of Silver, The Royal Congress of Chacras, the first University of Bolivia, and the Carolina Academy. South America’s first shouts of freedom were heard emanating from its bosom, and it was here that the first Constitutional Assembly was held, defining the birth of Bolivia as a free Republic. A tour of its streets allows us to enjoy the civic and religious structures built to house the population. They still conserve their architectural and artistic value with great zeal. These buildings today are a part of the old shell as well as the current image of Sucre.

Visit Sucre City

Departement of Santa Cruz

The Department of Santa Cruz, located in the Western region of Bolivia, offers a variety of natural landscapes with great biodiversity. The heritage is reflected in its architectural and historical monuments. Its culture is expressed through the ancient customs and traditions, arts, crafts, living villages and their people. All this makes Santa Cruz an authentic place, where diversity and adventure promise an unforgettable experience for the visitor. The capital city, Santa Cruz de la Sierra, is a young city. Young, strong and dynamic, located in the geographic centre of South America; it becomes a mandatory step towards other destinations in the continent. It developed an impressive hotel infrastructure, the most modern in the country, and projected itself as a centre of conventions, events, business deals and investments. 

DIscover the Jesuits Missions

Department of Tarija

Tarija is also known as the Bolivian Andalusia. It is a land of couplet-makers, beautiful valleys and vineyards; a nice, warm place meant for relaxing and enjoying nature. People are essentially catholic and deeply rooted in tradition, in such a way that the celebrations haven’t lost their vernacular enchantment. It has a rich folkloric, religious and cultural tradition, with well-known celebrations, such as the one-of-a-kind Chapaco Carnival, the Blooming Easter, San Roque´s Celebration, the “Chaguada”, the “Rosario”, among others; there are also events, such as the “EXPOSUR” (South expo). Youthfulness and tradition are always present in these events. The state capital has the same name, and it is known to be one of Bolivia’s most welcoming cities.

Discover the Wineries of Tarija

Department of Oruro

This is a wonderful place for tourism, with a wealth of folklore as well as pre Columbian, ethnic and natural resources. It is located in the West of Bolivia, inside the central Altiplano, crossed by the Andean mountain range (East and west), as well as lakes and salt flats. It is at an average height of 3.700 meters above sea level. The department of Oruro, cradle of one of the oldest civilizations in America – The Urus, was one of the most important centres in the Audiencia de Charcas, product of the intense mining activity of the period, offering the vast fortune of its mountains to Bolivia and the world. Oruro has been recognized as Bolivia’s folklore capital due to the regal carnival acclaimed by UNESCO as “A Masterpiece of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity.” It features important archaeological and historical centres, and awesome colonial churches of a great cultural value which deserve to be visited by tourists from all over the world.

Enjoy the Carnaval of Oruro

Department of Cochabamba

Located in the heart of Bolivia, it is characterized by being the department of a "Thousand Landscapes…Thousand Flavours". The climate is tempered, very pleasant for relaxation and enjoying nature. One can also enjoy varied typical and native cuisine, with exquisite dishes like: Piqueo Macho, Pampaku, Picante, Silpancho, Chicharron de Cerdo, Lawas, Kallu, etc. To wash down these delicacies, one can't miss the elixir of Cochabamba: Chicha de Maiz (a traditional corn wine).

Discover Cochabamba

Department of Pando

The department of Pando is located in the Northeast of Bolivia and rank fifth in surface size of all departments. The entire surface is covered by a thick jungle, crossed by a complex network of rivers, feeding it since the drawn off time. It features within this network the most vibrant and beautiful rivers that spill into the great Madera River, which, in turn, flows into the Amazon.

The flora and fauna is considered an unequalled reservoir o species that makes for a rich and vast biological diversity. Many of their medicinal plants are still unknown although the first aboriginal tribes used them with great success. It is believed that the Amazon jungle houses plant life that could be used to cure diseases such as cancer.

The capital of Pando, Cobija, has very deservedly earned titles such as "The Sentinel of Nationality" and "The Pearl of the Acre River". It is considered the most beautiful city in the Amazon jungle.

Discover the Pando department